• Investor
  • Phoenix, AZ
Votes |
How I House Hacked My Way To $1,000,000 in 6 years

Whit B.
  • Investor
  • Phoenix, AZ
Posted Jun 9 2022, 00:56

I thought today I’d share an abbreviated story of how I house hacked my way to $1,000,000 using what I call the seesaw method. Before I get into it I think it’s important to provide some context.

I am a fake engineer. That’s right, I have an engineering degree that I never actually used. It’s a certificate on my wall that basically serves to remind me that I can do hard things.

I’ve never made 6 figures from my day job. I don’t have rich family members. There’s nothing in my financial history that would make me any more prone to success than the average person. In fact, if you had $10,000 in 2016 you could be right where I am. Everything I’ve done is repeatable. If you could see my shoes from 2016, you would know that you could fill them financially speaking. I say all this to encourage you…if you are average, you CAN do this. There’s no fairy dust to it. You may just have to get a little scrappy. 

That said…here goes.

2016 I buy my first house in partnership with my brother. He has $5k, I have $10k. We buy the house for $295k with 5% down. Seller covers closing costs. We are off and running. 

2016-2018 we live there together paying into the mortgage as much as we can. Building equity the hard way. 

I discover bigger pockets. I listen to hundreds of episodes on the podcast. I read the forum relentlessly. Over and over again I hear stories of people who’ve done the work, were no smarter or dumber than me, and still came out on top.

Mid 2018 I put my house up for rent with no plan for what comes next. I need to force myself to take action. This is my solution. I find a renter, lock in a 4 year lease $100 below market rate. We move our stuff into storage and rent a VRBO for 3 months.

Late 2018 my brother buys a condo for $245k with 5% down. We move in there together splitting the mortgage 50/50.