Finding a cash flow market

13 Replies

Hey my names Sean and I’m a full time car salesman living out of Maryland. I’m looking to hop into the small multi family space and was wondering what markets are better for cash flowing so I can get started on the basics. I was thinking Nashville or Orlando. I don’t have a ton of capital saved up yet but my job pays well enough and I have been putting money aside while I do my research and practice running my numbers. Any advice for getting started? Any class or courses you would recommend? Most importantly what markets would you say have great cash flow?

@Sean Beksinski congrats on jumping in! Small multi family is a great place to start. If you have not already considered it, from personal experience I cannot say enough good things about starting with a house hack. It lets you learn to manage your own properties and to understand what goes into that. I feel it positions you better to hire someone to manage your portfolio later, and it lets you use an FHA loan to get into it as it will be owner occupied. I am not familiar with Maryland as a market however so I am not sure how feasible that is. I'm in Columbus OH where you can still buy a well rehabbed duplex in a decent area for the mid $300's...So might be a little different.

As far as resources I've loved the "house hacking success" podcast and their youtube channel is great.  I'm also loving "crushing it in commercial real estate" which is more about larger multi family units but the advice on self managing in it is absolutely amazing! 

If you are interested in what Columbus has to offer in more detail don't hesitate to reach out.  Happy to share my own properties numbers or to show you some others that are available currently.  cheers!

There's a very cheap multi-family investing course on Udemy.com that I briefly went through. Might be worth checking out. Also read "What Every Real Estate Investor Needs to Know about Cash Flow."