Votes
Thomas Mineart
Pro Member
Votes |
Where do I go to start a 506 (B) fund?

Thomas Mineart
Pro Member
Posted Jan 28 2022, 05:42

I think I want to start my own 506 (B) does anyone have any advice on who to reach out to so that I can start one?

I work as a real estate agent in central Iowa and because of the marketing I do, I am constantly getting listing leads. Some of the leads have homes that need work. I want to start a fund so that I can come back to the sellers with a listing proposal and a cash offer.

Most sellers will probably list their home which is fine but I just want to provide a convenient option for them if that is what is more important to them.

User Stats

Votes
Taylor L.
Pro Member
  • Multifamily and Self Storage Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Multifamily and Self Storage Investor
  • Richmond, VA
Replied Jan 28 2022, 05:58

Why do a fund rather than work with 1-2 established private money lenders? 

User Stats

Votes
Justin Hoggatt
  • Investor
  • Morrison, CO
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Morrison, CO
Replied Jan 28 2022, 06:09

The fund is only as good as the people that back it.  Do you have a good source of investors along with other people looking to list their home?  Starting a fund isn't cheap. There are companies online that help with creating a fund but you might want to start with talking with a local attorney that would be able to do this type of work for you.  I think it will show you the complexity of it as you learn more and you may figure out that it's not your best option.  Have a good source of lenders would be the cost of doing business here and you can get the show on the road right away.  Creating a fund is a long process as well.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Percy N.
  • Developer
  • Philadelphia, PA
Votes |
  • Developer