Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Haroon Tauqeer
Votes |
How much percentage ownership should I have?

Haroon Tauqeer
Posted Sep 7 2022, 18:55

Hi! New member here. I had a question and wanted to gauge the community here. My friend, who I have been flipping homes with for the past 5 years, wants to buy a rental property. The situation is that he will provide the downpayment while I sign on to the mortgage since my income and credit meets the mortgage. I don't have any cash stakes in this deal. Just that the mortgage will be under my name. My friend will take care of everything else. However, we are agreeing that I will still have a percentage ownership in the home since I will have the risk of holding the mortgage under my name.

My question is this: what is a fair percentage that I should propose given that I will be holding the mortgage but no cash investment? If you can justify your response, that would be awesome. Thanks in advance everyone!

User Stats

Votes
Jason Wray
Pro Member
#3 Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice Contributor
  • Banker
  • Nationwide
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice Contributor
  • Banker
  • Nationwide
Replied Sep 7 2022, 19:48

Haroon,

It all depends on how much you value your positon being that you are using your "good credit" and your ability to show income to qualify.  What are the end goals flip propertty and make some cash, long term hold and collect rents and split future equity in property?  Establish a partnership ahead of time and put it in writing/contract 50/50 60/40 70/30...

User Stats

Votes
Theresa Harris
Pro Member
#3 Managing Your Property Contributor
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Sep 7 2022, 20:27