Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Theodore Ezzedine
Votes |
First deal, total newbie. Need advice if possible please.

Posted Oct 15 2022, 15:11

Good afternoon,

I am close to purchasing my first deal. I do not feel as if it is a good deal and I am a little hesitant. 

The property is located on Glenmore in Cincinnati. The deal is a 4plex at 260k. Currently there is 4 tenants, 2 under rent. I should get 700-750 per door. After the inspection, there was pretty much only issues with the sewer line. However, it was an improper pitch. I got a 2nd analysis, it does not need an immediate repair but 10-15 years I can be about 15-20k. I have an appraisal next week. I went 10k over asking which I should not have done.

User Stats

Votes
Theresa Harris
Pro Member
#2 Managing Your Property Contributor
Votes |
Pro Member
#2 Managing Your Property Contributor
Replied Oct 15 2022, 15:30

What is your question?  Assuming you are renting out all 4 units, are the tenants on leases or month to month? Do the rents include utilities or are those paid for by the landlord? Are there any restrictions on rent increases?  What are the costs with your mortgage, property taxes, etc?

Hopefully your offer states that you get copies of the leases/rental agreements, prorated rent and the security deposits transfer over to you.

User Stats

Votes
Theodore Ezzedine
Votes |

The owner did not have any lease or rental agreements. Property taxes, insurance, and everything all included should be about 1700 a month all together. For the current tenants, they pay gas an electric. Owner pays heat, water, trash, and sewage.  I do believe that is placed within the offer. I do not think that the property will get appraised appropriately therefore I can still get out of the deal  with the appraisal contingency. 

PropStream logo
PropStream
|
Sponsored
Nationwide property data Use our robust, multi-sourced data to find off-market properties and close your next deal.

User Stats