Votes
Ash Tee
  • San Jose
Votes |
Investment Bayarea and out of state

Ash Tee
  • San Jose
Posted Nov 5 2022, 17:04

I am a newbie and would like to know if its better to buy a 1.5K home in Bayarea to rent or buy several out of state. If out of state which state and area will you recommend. 

User Stats

Votes
Bjorn Ahlblad
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Replied Nov 5 2022, 18:39

@Ash Tee welcome to BP! it is impossible to get cash flow in Bay Area, so many invest in other states. I invested in the Bay Area when I lived there and also Wa state. At the end of the day I made way more money in Ca from appreciation than cash flow OOS.

We now live in Wa and bought cash flowing properties here to fund our retirement. It is difficult/impossible to find decent investment property here today, but 7 or 8 years ago it was very doable.

User Stats

Votes
Aj Parikh
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Centreville, VA
Votes |
  • Centreville, VA
Replied Nov 9 2022, 18:32

Hi Ash, I have found value investing in Cleveland, OH because it is home to Cleveland Clinic, lot of good neighborhoods, landlord friendly laws, stable appreciation and good cash flowing properties. There are also abundant opportunities for small multi family and SFH. I have been able to scale up to 12 doors in 2 years so definitely recommend this area. Feel free to reach out and we can discuss.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
James Wise#4 All Forums Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cleveland Dayton Cincinnati Toledo Columbus & Akron, OH
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cleveland Dayton Cincinnati Toledo Columbus & Akron, OH
Replied Nov 11 2022, 06:37
Quote from @Ash Tee: