Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Cathy Bui
  • New to Real Estate
Votes |
How to maximize triplex return (will pay for consultation)

Cathy Bui
  • New to Real Estate
Posted Dec 1 2022, 00:01

I have a triplex in West Sacramento. Class D+, C- ish.

2bd 1ba, 2bd 1ba, Studio

1,580 sq ft building. 10,302 sq ft Lot.

All units empty. Appliances, carpet, and all other traits are old. 

I would like to find out how to maximize this investment. Add an ADU? Rent it all out with minimal repairs? Renovate then rent out? Do section 8 for all 3 units? Cash out refinance and buy another property vs keep low interest mortgage?

I am willing to pay for consultation if you have experience with transforming rental units.

User Stats

Votes
Scott Scoville
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Sacramento, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Sacramento, CA
Replied Dec 1 2022, 06:37

Hey Cathy,

Sounds like you have some great options. I'm an agent and investor in Sacramento. I also self manage my properties. I'd be happy to jump on a call and discuss this with you. DM me. 

Scoville Realty & Investments LLC Logo

User Stats

Votes
Daniel Zapata
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Bay Area, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Bay Area, CA
Replied Dec 13 2022, 22:59

Winter is generally a tough time to get tenants if you want decent rents. If you can float the property for a while, I would consider doing some renovations and have it rent ready by the Spring. You can take the time to install LVP flooring, durable appliances, etc. Just make sure to not over-renovate to the point of diminishing returns. I like to renovate a little better than the other units in my area so mine stand out a little more.

Re:refinancing: you should run the numbers on those different scenarios and see if you're comfortable with the expected cash-flow + benefit of leveraging this property into others.