General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Jordan Regier
Votes |
Showing a loss, gain or breaking even on tax return

Jordan Regier
Posted Dec 5 2022, 16:41

Hi Everyone, I am new to investing in rental properties as I mostly build and sell and I have a question about showing a loss or breaking even on my income tax return. Let me give you some background.  I'm building a short term vacation rental property in Sauble Beach, Ontario. We plan to use the cottage a few weeks a year and rent it out the rest of the year. I've done all the calculations and the property is going to cover the expenses and generate a decent amount of cashflow. However it would be relatively easy for me to show a loss or breaking even on the property.  I have a high income from my day job and I'm wondering if Its better to show a loss from my rental property? Any help would be great. thanks.

User Stats

Votes
Henry Clark
Pro Member
#1 Commercial Real Estate Investing Contributor
  • Developer
Votes |
Pro Member
#1 Commercial Real Estate Investing Contributor
  • Developer
Replied Dec 5 2022, 16:59

Couple of approaches

1.  Show the loss.  Reduced taxes and increased cash flow.  
2.    Your banker won’t care.  They will look at Net Operating Income and cashflow. 
3.  Talk with your tax accountant and make sure your rental loss will offset your normal income.  Not sure in Canada. 
4.  From a future standpoint will you be in a higher or lower tax bracket.  Then ask your question. 

User Stats

Votes
Jerry W.
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Thermopolis, WY
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Thermopolis, WY
ModeratorReplied Dec 5 2022, 19:03