Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Lenny Reinstein
Votes |
What is the cheapest STR or LTR I can buy that will give me positive cash flow?

Lenny Reinstein
Posted Mar 11 2023, 15:15

Even though I am almost 50 and work in finance in NY, I have zero practical experience with the real estate investment. Dreamed about real estate investing fore years... 

I would like to buy my 1st property and try it out. I cannot be in FL to manage, so will need to hire a management company.

And don't want to start with a large loan. Want to start small. Where could I buy a studio or 1br that is a ready to rent condition that would make sense with the current interest rates and market situation,  and what would be the price range? Would love your advise. 

User Stats

Votes
Austen Mueller
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pennsylvania
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Pennsylvania
Replied Mar 11 2023, 15:33

Congradualtions on deciding to jump into real estate. 

Do you REALLY want to buy the "cheapest" rental that will cashflow. I think your asking for a bad first exprience. I agree you should start small but too small is a seperate issue.  One bedroom studio is going to be a condo. Condo doesnt nessessarly=cheap. Usually they are located in more expensive downtown areas. In my market of PA, I just helpded a buyer purchase a 2bed/2bath condo unit for $255k. An hour down the road the same buyer could have bought 2 seperate properties they own fee simple. 

Lots of markets you can buy cashflowing property for $100k or under. But again. That isnt alweays the easierst property to own. Even with property managment. Rougher tenant base typiclly and more delayed maintinaceand & vacancy, whitch will deplete your cashflow and increase advil intake. I would target B class property for ease of ownership.  

User Stats

Votes
Lenny Reinstein
Votes |
Replied Mar 11 2023, 15:39
Quote from @Austen Mueller: