General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Josh Harris
Votes |
Investing in Atlanta, GA and surrounding areas

Josh Harris
Posted Dec 3 2023, 14:50

I currently have around 200k in cash that is yielding 5 percent in my brokerage account. I'm thinking of using that same money to potentially buy a rental property that could yield more and appreciate in value over the years. I figure it could be a decent time to buy soon while it seems to be somewhat of a buyers market given high rates as I could be cash buyer. I am however, a total newbie when it comes to real estate investing and it would be my first rental. That having been said, I want to avoid any rookie mistakes. I'm in Atlanta, GA which gives me fewer options with that budget unless I go with condos with HOA's that allow rentals, or venture out to towns outside of Atlanta like Macon, GA, Athens, Lagrange etc... That having been said, are there any tips from experienced investors in Georgia with suggestions of where I should be looking to buy? I even get tempted out of state in places like Alabama, South Carolina because real estate is so much cheaper there but continue to hear its best to have a rental around 45 min away or so.. Any tips/insight much appreciated! Thanks so much!

User Stats

Votes
AJ Exner
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Springfield, MO
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Springfield, MO
Replied Dec 3 2023, 20:16

Hey Josh,

Completely biased, but real estate is definitely a great option and Atlanta certainly has its pros and cons. 

In Atlanta, anything with an HOA is likely going to rip apart any cashflow/DSCR that you might have and make financing kind of tricky. You obviously want to grow your portfolio as soon and as much as possible, but getting most of it tied up in a couple of non-CF condos could be detrimental.