Is it possible to take over property from my landlord who is in forclosure now?

9 Replies

My landlord has a judgement of strict foreclosure against him. My family is one of the tenants of a 4 family home in state of CT. I am still a newbie at REI but I thought this might be something to consider. Is it possible I can take over ownership if the foreclosure process has started? Who would I talk to about it?

"Take over ownership" means to buy the property. So, your question is, can I buy this property from my landlord. Yes, you can. You would need to talk to your landlord and see if he want's to sell. And you would have to figure out how to buy it. Are you in a position financially to do that? Do you have something else in mind?

I don't know CT foreclosure law. Once the strict judgment is final, is there then a sheriff's sale to auction off the property? Does the borrower have any redemption rights and/or can he reinstate the loan for back payments?

I just looked the def. of strict foreclosure in CT. If there is already a judgment, it means the property already belongs to the bank. And that likely it had no equity. So you'd need to work with the lender to buy it from them. It's nearly impossible to buy a foreclosure directly from the lender. Typically you have to wait for them to list it.

Kristine Marie Poe interpreted it correctly: once a judgment has been rendered in CT, the property belongs to the bank. There is no redemption period (the owner being foreclosed on already had his chance) and no way to buy the property directly from the landlord, who would be considered the previous owner. If you figure out how to work directly with the bank, let me know! I haven't been able to do so and have had to wait for the property to be listed w/an REO agent.