Promising baltimore real estate investment for living and renting as well

4 Replies

I am planning on investing 200-300k in a property that I can use as residence and also rent out a room or the whole house if a move in a few years.I was thinking canton,fed hill but the taxes are pretty high not sure if that would be worth paying, secondly i really would like a parking spot.Towson is also another possibility.Condo or townhouse doesn't really matter.But i need atleast a 2bed/2bath.

A little about me; i am a single young professional,starting a job, want to invest with not very high monthly payments but a safe investment.

I would appreciate your suggestions.

Thanks.

Unless you find yourself a house that needs to be rehabbed, canton & fed hill are not areas where you will profit from due to inflated prices. That ship sailed years ago. Look around in zip code 21214. Prices are more reasonable and rent rates are solid. 

hmmm...thanks i didn't think this area was a safe neighborhood to consider for investment.I will look into it.

Secondly what do you think about towson or pikesville

Originally posted by @Kyle Gregg :

Unless you find yourself a house that needs to be rehabbed, canton & fed hill are not areas where you will profit from due to inflated prices. That ship sailed years ago. Look around in zip code 21214. Prices are more reasonable and rent rates are solid. 

Kyle is right on 21214 being a great bang for your buck area. Hamilton has recently had a positive upturn with home prices raising in the past year thanks to the activity of professional flippers. You are now able to purchase a large single-family home in the neighborhood that has been fully renovated for around $200k. This is highly desirable price point for young professionals who desire staying in the city limits but need additional space for a growing family.