What's your real estate investing criteria?

8 Replies

Since I'm just starting out, I'm curious about other investor's criteria, when met, will make you pull the trigger immediately on a deal. I'm thinking mine is a single family rental home near my house, valued between $65,000 and $130,000. Rented for a monthly NOI of $500 after deducting PITI + $250 just in case expenses. What's yours?

So if I understand you are looking for $500 in monthly cash flow after PITI and $250 for say vacancy and repair contingencies correct? I think your criteria is basically going to be UN-achievable for the most part. In my market for example using a standard deal of say $89,900 sale price , 20% down 4.875% rate, 30yr loan, est $5k in lender total closing cost, and $250 in monthly contingencies, this home would have to rent in the area of $1,300 per month. If you ever find anything like that you better jump all over it. I doubt it will happen but crazier things have happened.

Good luck

Originally posted by @Curt Davis :

So if I understand you are looking for $500 in monthly cash flow after PITI and $250 for say vacancy and repair contingencies correct? I think your criteria is basically going to be UN-achievable for the most part. In my market for example using a standard deal of say $89,900 sale price , 20% down 4.875% rate, 30yr loan, est $5k in lender total closing cost, and $250 in monthly contingencies, this home would have to rent in the area of $1,300 per month. If you ever find anything like that you better jump all over it. I doubt it will happen but crazier things have happened.

Good luck