Have any investors thought of/gotten a realtor license??

7 Replies

Hi everyone! 

I'm focused on multi-family complexes and I will be doing 1031s every 3-5 years. 

Can anyone tell me how much it is to keep a realtor license active annually in Washington state? 

I would primarily like to get it for my personal investment use; but id also love to help like-minded investors purchase properties part-time. 

Would it be worth me obtaining a license? 

Any feedback would be appreciated! 

Thanks

@Arissa Dahl I can tell you that, at least in the Chicago area where I work, most larger complexes do not go through the MLS. I am a realtor, and my license has definitely helped me, but I have only been able to buy one larger property off the MLS.

As to the cost to keep your license, I will let some folks in your state chime in. Here in Illinois the cost is not prohibitive, especially as I use my license regularly. 

@Timothy Tooker Tim, where do you get the $2,000? I can't find that figure listed everywhere. Is that from the state? Does it include CE classes? I take it that it is how much you personally pay, but could you share a breakdown of that? 

I've been thinking of getting one myself, but that hold cost seems crazy compared to my investment and insurance licenses.

@Robert Freeborn

First year:

Real Estate Course: $420 (Rockwell), there are cheaper schools out there.

Written Test: $125

Finger Prints: $30

Realtor's Union dues: $620 (Optional depending on Brokerage)

NWMLS dues: $480

Supra: $75 activation + $15 a month = $255

Office fees: $65 a month or $780 (Will vary depending on Brokerage and Model)

Total: $2,710 

Additional Cost:

Signs: This will vary depending on Brokerage and if you are on a team or not

Business Cards: Depends on what you want