Real estate agent working with Investors.

12 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets community,

My name is Jorge Mendoza I am a new Realtor in South Texas (McAllen and the RGV). I got my license primarily to help me and my family invest in real estate and we are on course to buy our first deal before the end of the year. As I became more involved in the industry I grew more passionate about becoming an outstanding real estate agent and specially in helping other investors.

My questions for investors is what do you look for in a real estate agent? What training if any do you expect them to have? If the agent is not an investor is that a deal breaker? How can an agent prove itself and convince you to work with them? That any and all other comments will be greatly appreciated! 

@Jorge Mendoza

When I am looking for a realtor I always use referrals from other investors; similar to looking for any other real estate professional. It takes a special type of realtor to understand what an investor needs. They need to find wholesale properties not retail which sounds simple but I have worked with many realtors that said they were investor realtors and would send me retail properties and other properties way outside of the criteria I provided to them. I think if you network with local investors and bring them wholesale deals you will start building your investor base.

Originally posted by @Account Closed :

Honestly? they need to show me good deals. As a cash buyer, I want access to your best ones, not your left over inventory.

This is likely to conflict with the agenda of an agent who is also an investor. 

I agree this could be a conflict of interest but for me personally starting out I want to limit myself to a couple deals a year and all the other deals I find I could pass on to investors. Thank you for you advice!