Open Door Capital Funds

16 Replies

I am new to syndication investing and have read many comments on other threads regarding the ODC funds.  Can anyone that is a part of Open Door Capital fund 1 or 2 comment on their experience?  Any information is appreciated.

@Paul Gutierrez

I don’t have any experience with that particular fund. There are typically two types of syndication. One is the fund type and the other is project type.

I’m in favor of the project type as it allows for money to be put to work immediately and it’s a set amount.

The fund allows for money to come in and sometimes go out as needed. It allows the sponsor to buy and sell real estate within the fund as well, maybe doing multiple smaller deals. You would have to learn a lot about the sponsor to see/or know exactly what they are doing.

The project type is usually 1-2 properties and set at that. No adding or subtracting. Then when it’s sold everyone gets out. (Super difficult to do a 1031, but not impossible). When everyone gets out, usually looking for a another deal to offset the taxable gains.

Hope this helps!

Promotion
Innago
Property Management Software
Manage Your Rentals Better For Free. Save Time & Money.
Easily Collect Rent, Screen Tenants, Sign Leases, List Properties, Manage Work Orders, & Much More!
100% Free Try It Now

With the caveat that I'm much more familiar with traditional private equity funds than real estate investment funds, I would caution that the returns waterfall is extremely favorable for the GP. Typical private equity funds have 80 / 20 splits above the hurdle rather than the 70 / 30 the fund is employing. The 50 / 50 split above a 15% LP IRR is also extremely favorable to the GP, and relatively unheard of (at least in the institutional private equity world).