Credit score while investing

2 Replies

How bad would my credit score hurt if I took out 100k against my home? My credit score is 735 and my home value is 609k paid in full. I also would like to know what you would do in my situation? Would you take out a mortgage on your rental property and continue to takeout mortgages on different properties OR pay the rental in full and use the tenants rent to pay off your HELOC faster? I need help! Please. Im new to this. Im really worried about my credit being run so many times by different mortgage companies then being rejected!

Ironically @Antonio Russo , I would bet that this helps your credit.  If your home is owned outright then you're NOT holding one of the largest credit extensions that the average homeowner has, and a $100k loan against a $600k asset would be widely regarded as safe.  The more credit you are trusted with and faithfully execute according to the agreements, the higher your score.  So, I'd say expect a drop initially and an uptick in the months to come.