Skip to content
Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice

User Stats

Votes

2nd home or investment property?

Krystl Matsunaga
Posted Jan 17 2022, 00:16

Hi everyone. I am just starting out with my 1st rental property in Hawaii but am wondering which one is more beneficial: 2nd home that's a house hack vs. investment property. Per the lender I'm using right now, she said I can pre-qualify for more purchase price power with an investment property mortgage than a 2nd home mortgage. I would put 10% down with the 2nd home vs. 20% with the investment property, but would have to use a HELOC to fund the extra 10% down payment, increasing my DTI. She also mentioned that Freddie/Fannie is changing things for 2nd homes, so it might be more beneficial to do an investment loan. What are the pros and cons to each mortgage, as well as the tax advantages/disadvantages for both? Any other information would be greatly appreciated!! Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Janus
  • Realtor
  • Columbus OH & Cleveland, OH
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Columbus OH & Cleveland, OH
Replied Jan 17 2022, 07:58

I would advise purchasing an investment property in a great market. In order to do this successfully, check out multiple US markets and see which one(s) tailor towards your goals and dive in. Then find an investor friendly realtor. You really want someone that invests in their market themselves and understands the numbers. They should be able to determine the COC, annualized return, estimated ARV of a BRRRR, accurate rent comps and more. The valuation and market value of a multi family property differs from a single family and you want someone that understands the distinctions if you go that route. If they just represent first time single family home buyers and aren't constantly finding off market properties and reviewing deals, you'll find a better investment through someone else.

User Stats

Votes
Isi Nau
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Mililani, HI
Votes |
Pro Member