Votes
Kurtis R.
  • Florida
Votes |
Line of Credit on Multifamily Property?

Kurtis R.
  • Florida
Posted Nov 29 2022, 12:00

I currently own a 4plex with an estimated 150K+ in equity and I would like to access the equity in order to purchase some more properties. 

I have never used a line of credit before and naively assumed it would be a straight forward process. However, after calling multiple banks and credit unions I have come to realize that no one seems to offer such a product for investment properties. Unfortunately I do not have enough equity in my primary residence to pull from there. 

Does anyone know of any lenders that will allow a line of credit on an investment property? I have read of other people that were able to accomplish this, however those threads are a few years old. I am located in Tallahassee, FL if that helps. 

Any assistance or advice is greatly appreciated!

User Stats

Votes
J. Mitchell Bernier
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Camilla, GA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Camilla, GA
Replied Nov 29 2022, 13:36
Quote from @Kurtis R.:

I currently own a 4plex with an estimated 150K+ in equity and I would like to access the equity in order to purchase some more properties. 

I have never used a line of credit before and naively assumed it would be a straight forward process. However, after calling multiple banks and credit unions I have come to realize that no one seems to offer such a product for investment properties. Unfortunately I do not have enough equity in my primary residence to pull from there. 

Does anyone know of any lenders that will allow a line of credit on an investment property? I have read of other people that were able to accomplish this, however those threads are a few years old. I am located in Tallahassee, FL if that helps. 

Any assistance or advice is greatly appreciated!

Hey Kurtis, 

They are plenty of lenders that will do this including the bank I work for, but there could be some underlying problems.