Is it a good idea to Sell Real Estate and Originate Loans?

5 Replies

I've been throwing the idea around for several months now and want to know what others have experienced. Is it a bad idea to work as a Real Estate Agent and Mortgage Lender?I know with FHA you're not allowed to do both on the transaction but are there any pitfalls to doing both otherwise? I've had my salesperson license for about 7 years now but have only worked as a loan officer. I'd like to hear from those that are currently doing both and get feedback

Thanks,

Chris

@Chris Salas  That's a really interesting question. I'm curious to see what other's will say...

I think it is a great idea. I had the opportunity to do both for about 15 months during the super low interest rates of 2012-2013. I had been a real estate agent for 7 years and got offered a job working in a loan production center for a bank doing mostly refinances. I found that that experience gave me great insight to the lending process which ultimately led me to being a much better real estate agent.

I believe knowledge is power and as a younger real estate agent it can sometimes be tough getting clients (since everyone seems to know a few agents). So for me, being able to speak intelligently on loan options and fully understanding the loan process has been a great tool. I believe when potential clients see how educated I am regarding lending, it gives them comfort that I know the real estate side of the transaction as well. That is just my personal experience. And of course now that I'm not in lending, I always preface anything that I tell them regarding lending with, I'm not a lender so you should contact your lender to verify the information.