Taft Love
  • Spokane, WA
Votes |
Struggling to understand some basics...

Taft Love
  • Spokane, WA
Posted Dec 11 2017, 18:08

Hi all,

I'm new to the forums and real estate investing. I currently own one turnkey triplex that I bought FHA. My goal is to employe the BRRRR strategy in my local market (Spokane, WA). However, after talking to a few lenders, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding how all of the podcast guests got started so quickly, often with very little money.

A little context about me before I ask questions:

- I worked in law enforcement and teaching in my 20's, during which I didn't make much money. I was carrying debt until a year or two ago.

- I have moved quickly in my new career. Now I'm cash poor ($40k liquid but saving fast) relative to my W2 income (over $100k net, annually).

- I don't have many expenses and am saving quickly. My credit score is almost perfect.

- My current triplex is on an FHA loan and cash flows a few hundred dollars a month, but I put it back into principal.

Here's what I learned from talking to a few lenders and banks:

- The lender I used for the first loan allows up to 10 Freddy/Fannie loans. After that, I have to get into commercial loans or private money.

- I can get a rehab loan and use it for BRRR, but will need 6 months of seasoning on the loan before I can refinance my down payment out.

- In my area, according to a local lender, there aren't any banks doing portfolio lending that will be less aggressive than Freddy and Fannie.

- The two banks I talked to said that I'd qualify for around $25k unsecured lines of credit. Qualifying for a $100k unsecured LOC would require "around a million liquid".

- My takeaway was that the best velocity I can hope for is 1 house per 6 months. This is a bit discouraging considering the fact that my goal is to own 40 doors in the next 7 years.

Here's what I'm having trouble understanding: