HELOC and primary home loan

16 Replies

I'm am looking for a HELOC, so that I can have capital available for down payments/investing. I have never had a HELOC. One company wants to refi the conventional loan on my primary residence in combination with the HELOC, is that how it usually works?

@Felicia Bridges you can have a HELOC as the first lien/mortgage on your property. Often people use a HELOC as a second mortgage, utilizing the equity left after the first mortgage. When you run the numbers, that should tell you which option works best for you.

Sounds like they're just trying to get some extra business from you. It isn't necessary to refi. Maybe it would be to your advantage, I don't know, but don't do it just because they want to.

I'm looking to do the same thing by leveraging my equity in my home; however, I was advised to only use 25% of my equity for a down payment in the event of depreciation. I've never done one before either and actually just asked in a separate forum for advice before seeing your post. 

It does sound like the lender wants to just get more from you by having you do a refi, which will put money in their pocket with their fees, on top of you doing your HELOC. I was advised to do either one or the other. The advantage of the HELOC is that you can borrow the money as you please, vice the refi you'll just cash out and you pay it back with your mortgage regardless. Moreover, the disadvantage of the HELOC is it can have a low starting interest rate, with a variable monthly rate based on the outstanding balance, vice if you have a fixed rate loan when you refinance.

@Benjamin Manibog I submitted an application on lending tree and of course my phone started blowing up.

What I've discovered is that many lenders say they don't offer a HELOC. They want to talk to me about refi cash out or an equity loan which I don't want at this time.