Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
Votes |
Newbie Investor looking for advice!

Nik Eliadis
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
Posted May 17 2022, 02:32

Hi there,  I'm new to BiggerPockets and am looking for advice on cash-out refinancing.

I'm a newbie, but have gone all in with real estate investing and have just closed on 2 properties I plan to rent long term. There is a real shortage of rentals in Colorado Springs.
I paid cash from overseas funds (I am a permanent resident) and am now wanting to cash-out refi to buy additional long term rental investments and BRRRR.

The challenge seems to be around how to declare overseas income and proof of income.  One lender has asked how I funded the purchases. 
I also have a mix of W2 and 1099 tax returns for the last 2 years only. 

Has anyone had any similar experience?
How does the rental income come into play? ...and does anyone have any advice on the types of lenders who can assist?

Once I get over this hurdle - I'm sure financing will be easier?!

Thanks in advance,
Nik

User Stats

Votes
Stuart Grazier
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Parker, CO
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Parker, CO
Replied May 17 2022, 04:03

@Nik Eliadis Have you looked into trying a commercial DSCR loan? They base the loan off the income the properties are producing, not off of your own income. I'll send you a DM.

User Stats

Votes
Jordan Malara
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Colorado Springs, CO
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Colorado Springs, CO
Replied Jun 7 2022, 11:04

@Nik Eliadis Does the lender you are currently working with have experience working with investors? It is always best to find a lending team that is investors themselves. I have someone that I would be happy to connect you with. As far as rental income is concerned, if it is not on your tax returns then it cannot be fully counted towards your DTI, however, most lenders can count up to 75% of rental income not on tax returns.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|