Creative Real Estate Financing

User Stats

Votes
Ji Fo
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • TX LA, MI
Votes |
Will this property be seen as SFR or Duplex?

Ji Fo
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • TX LA, MI
Posted Jun 19 2022, 12:54

Hello there! I’m new to Real Estate Investing and in the process of purchasing my first property. I came across a listing that I like and have a question about how the listing will be viewed from the Lender’s perspective, so that I am able to pursue financing that makes the most sense (and cents).

The property is listed as a single family home, but is referenced as previously being used as a duplex- I believe they have separate addresses.

Has anyone gone through this specific scenario? Did it come down to you negotiating w/ Lender to view the property as one property type over the other based on which would give you the more favorable financing terms?

Background: this will be my RE purchase, owner occupied, prefer a low down payment 8-10%.

User Stats

Votes
Scott Wolf
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Boca Raton, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Boca Raton, FL
Replied Jun 19 2022, 14:11

@Ji Fo a title company should be able to assist, based on Certificates of Occupancy.  You don't get to negotiate with how it is viewed by the lender.  Additionally, since it will be owner-occupied, it should not affect the loan much anyway.

User Stats

Votes
Brandon Vukelich
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Auburn, WA: 🏢 26 LTRs 🏡 3 STRs
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Auburn, WA: 🏢 26 LTRs 🏡 3 STRs
Replied Jun 20 2022, 09:56