Creative Real Estate Financing

User Stats

Votes
Jerod McCarrell
Votes |
Financing for Home

Jerod McCarrell
Posted Jan 18 2023, 04:08

Hey everyone! I’m in a “unique” situation and looking for some guidance/advice. I’m currently a second year medical student here in San Antonio. My wife and I are currently home owners as we were able to afford a 250k property in 2021 (both of us were working). However, now that I’m in school, she is the only one working, making around 50k before taxes. We have a good amount of savings and some assets, but having difficulty getting a new loan in order to move out of this home to rent and move into a new home, due to her single income. How might we go about getting funding? Anyone have any options? Making payments is not an issue, just proving “on paper” to a big loan company is the issue. 

User Stats

Votes
Jay Hurst
Lender
#2 Private Lending & Conventional Mortgage Advice Contributor
  • Lender
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
Lender
  • Lender
  • Dallas, TX
Replied Jan 18 2023, 06:25
Quote from @Jerod McCarrell:

Hey everyone! I’m in a “unique” situation and looking for some guidance/advice. I’m currently a second year medical student here in San Antonio. My wife and I are currently home owners as we were able to afford a 250k property in 2021 (both of us were working). However, now that I’m in school, she is the only one working, making around 50k before taxes. We have a good amount of savings and some assets, but having difficulty getting a new loan in order to move out of this home to rent and move into a new home, due to her single income. How might we go about getting funding? Anyone have any options? Making payments is not an issue, just proving “on paper” to a big loan company is the issue. 

@Jerod McCarrell    Has anyone told you what your debt to income is when you add a new mortgage to your ledger?  How much longer do you have before you are a resident?