Skip to content
Creative Real Estate Financing

User Stats

Votes

Seller finance deal

Posted Apr 18 2023, 13:44

Hello biggerpockets members,

I am a newbie investor looking to start my journey in the real estate world! I have yet to get my first property and am eager to get my first. I am in the NY market and as you already know, its quite expensive and the tenant laws are in their favor. I came across a house in the MLS in Pittsburgh Pa, Multifamily 4 room 2 bath. The price is only 160k and they are willing to seller finance!! I would perfer to seller finance since its easier than getting approved for a loan. How can i approach this deal!

User Stats

Votes
Hunter Reed
  • New to Real Estate
  • Emporia State University
Votes |
  • New to Real Estate
Replied Apr 18 2023, 13:59

Jonathan, seller finance is a beautiful way to finance a deal. If the seller is willing to seller finance I would begin to reach out and build a relationship with them. This will ensure trust and possibly even better terms. Tell the seller your WHY and future goals for investing in real estate, chances are they would love to offer you advice. As far as the deal goes you want to make sure 85%-100% of the property is paid off. You do not want to carry over their existing mortgage payments. Once that is finalized you can then discuss a down payment and interest rate. You'll need to show them proof of funds. Ask the seller about a ballon payment, because you may want to do a cash refi in the future. The cash refi is how you're going to own the entire property. Wait for the rates to come down. Other than that the asking price seems attractive enough to cash flow from the rent. All in all make sure that your monthly rent from tenants will cover the sellers finance agreement. Good luck!

User Stats

Votes
Replied Apr 18 2023, 14:56
Quote from @Hunter Reed: