• Rental Property Investor
  • NH
Votes |
Help with Partner Holding Paper Strategy

Brett C.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • NH
Posted Aug 3 2014, 07:17

Hi everyone, I have a partner who wants to hold paper long term for some of my deals. Sa-weeeeeet! I want to make the process as PASSIVE, painless and professional as possible for my partner and other potential partners but I've never done it before.

Specifics - my partner will hold the deed and "be the bank" on a long term amortization for me at a reasonable negotiated rate. I have to aquire the property with a combo of sufficient equity/cash flow/my own money to make my partner feel comfortable with the deal, at which point we will close and my partner gets the deed.

Questions:

1. I want to provide a PASSIVE & professional service for my partner where a third party manages the note, ie I send the payments to this company (not my partner) and they collect and we can log in on line to see status, amortization, payoff balance should I decide to refi, etc. I can't be mailing checks to my partner and managing the balance on an excel spreadsheet or bankrate.com. Where do I go for this service, and how/when do I set it up? I would assume we get in place prior to closing but I don't know.

2. My partner will "hold the paper", but who/where does the actual deed go? Does my partner actually hold the deed in a lockbox or do we send it to the registry of deeds, or the third party/bank type place that will manage the payments?

3. Can any old real estate attorney close a deal like this in NH / MA or do I need a special attorny / title company.