• Contractor
  • Flower Mound, TX
Votes |
What kind of loan should I get?

Alex Tijerina
  • Contractor
  • Flower Mound, TX
Posted Aug 30 2014, 18:09

I have inherited a property in Dallas, Tx. This property has a tax lien of $10 k and is in pretty bad shape. I need to rehab this property to be able to do anything with it. I have no dept and my credit is really good. I just have no clue on what type of loan I should get to rehab the home. I read about hard money and private lenders but don't know if I should seek their services or deal with another source. I am really careful with not getting credit cards but I know I need to get a loan of some sort to get this project going. Any advise would be appreciated. And I would like to rehab the home pull out equity and rent it out. Its a good investment to get me going into this new venture.  I am new to BP and in just a few hrs have absorbed so much information. Truly grateful to be apart of this community.

User Stats

Votes
Doug McLeod
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Cypress, TX
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Cypress, TX
Replied Aug 30 2014, 18:38

Hard money would allow you to borrow the most. But if the unrepaired value is sufficient you could do a simple HELOC. That could save you lots of finance charges. Then after it is repaired you can rent it and do a cash out refi based on the appraised value (should be close to ARV if you do the comps right) - if you want to get some cash for more deals while also having cash flow. Or you can just rent it and enjoy the cash flow.

User Stats

Votes
Alex Tijerina
  • Contractor
  • Flower Mound, TX
Votes |
  • Contractor
  • Flower Mound, TX
Replied Aug 30 2014, 18:48

Thanks for the advise Doug, Its great to get some insight rather than just try and figure things out on your own. Greatly appreciated.  

BiggerPockets logo
Meet Investor-Friendly Agents
|
BiggerPockets
Network with top investor-friendly agents who can help you find, analyze, and close your next deal.