Subject to

2 Replies

I'm new to investing and haven't done my first deal yet, but I'm trying to understand how the subject to contract works.  Can someone explain?  

Thanks so much!! :)

I will give you my understanding of the, Subject to contract", but I do hope someone with allot of experience doing (subject to) jumps in here and will provide a better understanding than I may do. First, Subject To means your offer is Subject to the existing financing staying in place, in other words you are only taking over the payments but the existing owner is still on the hook for the loan, their name remains on the loan, not yours. 

The potential pitfall is that the lending company or current and existing mortgage company or holder can call in the full amount of the outstanding loan once ownership changes hands. Many say that this rarely if ever happens and those that do use subject to are said to never worry about that possibility happening because the mortgage holder wants to keep on getting payments made on time on the loan vs foreclosing on the loan. 

You can take it as a given that those that will accept a Subject to deal will be very motivated sellers and very few people would accept their name remaining on the loan which the property stands in as the collateral for the loan. You will be in a position to affect their credit if for any reason you do not make sure the payments are made on time. 

If the property and loan are foreclosed on of course your credit is not affected nor does the foreclosure go against you but it will against the current owner as they are ultimately responsible for making sure the loan payments are made on time. 

Personally I think the subject to contract and deals are better left to those that have plenty of experience using it and are well healed financially and could actually buy the home , that is pay off the loan if they had to.