To get my real estate license or not?

5 Replies

Yes I know tomes have been written on this subject and it's been hotly debated. So why am I asking? Let me explain. I've been working in corporate America for 20 years now. For the past 14 years I've been working for the same company in sales. I make 6 figures have full benefits and a new company car every few years. I have over a month in vacation due to my tenure. I have 2 boys one of which is high functioning autistic and a hubby that makes more than me. So what's the problem? After all I have a comfortable lifestyle well relatively speaking since I live in Los Angeles. Every time I look at houses I want to buy let's say Hollywood hills or Santa Monica I can't afford it. I want to vacation when and where I want. In short I'm tired of being middle class. I've done a few private money loans and have 2 outstanding. One for 130k one for 180k so I have some experience in real estate but I consider myself a student of the game not a master. I'm thinking getting my license will help me analyze deals better and get me to my goal of being a millionaire quicker. However being a listing or sellers agent doesn't appeal to me as I'm back to trading time for money. Anybody else struggle with this? I'm interested in your thoughts thanks!!

I should have titled this getting out of the middle class trap!

I'm thinking getting my license will help me analyze deals better and get me to my goal of being a millionaire quicker. However being a listing or sellers agent doesn't appeal to me as I'm back to trading time for money. Anybody else struggle with this? I'm interested in your thoughts thanks!!

Hi @Jeanette A. !