• Investor
  • Lakewood, OH
Votes |
Coming up with a downpayment

Rob Armstrong
  • Investor
  • Lakewood, OH
Posted Aug 20 2017, 13:34

Hi everyone, rookie rental property investor here. I have been interested in rental properties for a long time and recently came across one that looks like a really promising investment. As I've begun to read through the advice offered on the website I'm realizing just how ill prepared I may be. The house (duplex) I'm looking at needs some work and I have little to no experience doing any fixing and minor experience with upping. The bigger issue in my mind is how I will manage financing it. The property is selling for 95k but the city has determined that the lead paint in the house needs to be dealt with (understandable). I'm not even sure what all that entails yet but I'm assuming it means I need to gut it and start fresh. In the area, similar properties are selling for $140k+ which is the value I'm aiming to bring it to so that even if i don't end up renting I can at least break even on selling it. After a walk through everything seems pretty solid (will still have it properly inspected of course). If I rented both units I could easily cover the mortgage, and since I'll be managing it part time and looking at it as a long term investment I can deal with a few years of low/no cash flow, but I'm concerned about the down payment.