Is this a good idea how to start or no?

9 Replies

Greetings everyone! My name is Ian and I am a veteran. I just got out of the Navy June of 2019. 

I am planning to buy a house using the VA loan. I was thinking on living in it while renovating it at the same time. I know that you need to live in it for a year before you can sell it. Im thinking about after renovating it, i will refinance it using other loan, then selling it. That way i can sell it without waiting for a year and i can use another va loan. I know that typically, theres a 400k limit that you can use on VA loan. I have decent savings right now but id rather put 0 percent down thats why i want to use VA loan. I am tired of working 15 hours a day so i really want to start flipping houses. I know you technically cant flip houses using VA loan but if you know any loopholes in the beginning, please let me know.

Here are my problems, I am currently renting in an apartment and my lease is till February 2020. And i do not have a 2 yr employment history because i just got out of the navy. Other than these two i think im set to get a loan. I have decent savings, no debt, and good credit score. Any advice?

I'm just learning about flipping houses (in the education mode) so I don't have experience with rules and regulations. However, I checked with my husband who served six years in the United States Air Force and he says that you are considered a government employee while in the military, and that employment is certainly verifiable! Also, if you find out there are too many restrictions with the VA loan, why not team up with an investor for your first flip? If you have great credit, that would be a win-win. Establishing a relationship with a great investor seems like a positive step to take. Any way, that's my two cents. Good luck! :)

@Ian don't try to game the game with the VA loan, mortgage fraud is no joke, and misusing the benefit is a surefire way to make the restrictions worse for veterans.