Skip to content
Creative Real Estate Financing
Account Closed
  • New to Real Estate
Votes |
Flexibility of FHA Owner Occupancy status?

Account Closed
  • New to Real Estate
Posted Dec 7 2019, 10:55

Hey! I'm Matthew, I'm fairly new to the world of real estate investing and rental properties, though I'm very excited to be diving deeper into things. I've been looking at 3 unit rental properties in the Manchester NH area that, while being able to net a solid positive cashflow right out of the gate, would produce less cashflow with me living in one of the units for a year or so while I save up for my next project. So my thought to increase cashflow right out of the gate would be to purchase an RV, park it on the property, and live out of that for the majority of the year while all 3 units are rented out, netting me . However, since I'm most likely going through an FHA loan when I do decide to purchase a property, it is required that I am an owner occupant. So really my question is this; if I purchase this 3 unit rental property with an FHA loan, and if I live on the property in an RV, does that still count as owner occupation?

Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Tessier
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Manchester, NH
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Manchester, NH
Replied Dec 8 2019, 04:23

@Matthew Tusinski what you might want to ask is has anyone ever had someone check on the owner occupied status of an FHA mortgage? I have two mortgages both owner occupied both taken out less than 12 months apart from one another. Neither one has ever had anyone question the owner occupied status of them or ask to check in on them.