Tax, SDIRAs & Cost Segregation

User Stats

Votes
Brian Williams
Votes |
Structuring NC LLC with Finance management

Brian Williams
Posted Jan 23 2022, 11:11

Hi I would greatly appreciate input regarding the proper way to structure our real estate business in North Carolina. We have (3) Single family homes as Rentals but only (1) LLC established. Many of the books or podcasts recommend separate LLCs and checking accounts for each property. I feel like over time this would be very difficult to manage. If we were to restructure now for current and future growth how do we do that? Any books or other reading material to assist us in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

User Stats

Votes
Sean Morrison
  • Attorney
  • Slidell, LA
Votes |
  • Attorney
  • Slidell, LA
Replied Jan 24 2022, 13:05

Disclaimer: I am an attorney, but I am not your attorney. This is not legal advice, just friendly information.

This is more a question of risk tolerance and strategies for mitigating a certain level of risk. It's much debated on BiggerPockets how many LLCs are needed. It depends on you, your risk tolerance, and the value of your assets. The LLC can limit liability to just the assets within that LLC. If the assets of the LLC include three properties, then a judgment from one property could collect by foreclosing the other properties. But if they are in separate LLCs, the liabilities of one LLC can't go against the assets of another. It's more complicated than that, but that's the basics. Of course, insurance is the first line of defense.

User Stats

Votes
Pat Lulewicz
  • Realtor
  • Raleigh NC and Greensboro, NC
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Raleigh NC and Greensboro, NC
Replied Jan 24 2022, 15:06

From an inconvenience/hidden-costs perspective: