Tax issue!

13 Replies

I had to purchase my primary residence with my parents credit, at the time I couldn't get approved. While I know it does not matter I paid all the closing cost, down payment, taxes and mortgage payments each month. We purchased the home in 8/2011. My wife and I are ready to sell the home and purchase a new home. We are being told that if we sell my parents will have to pay capital gains taxes (I would pay) This would really hinder our ability to purchase our next home because we need the equity for the down payment. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Could my parents refi with me on the new loan and add me to the deed? We stay in the home for two more years and be ok? Any other ideas?

I'm no expert, but I thought someone could own a house for 2 years and then sell without paying capital gains tax.

Another option would be to transfer the deed into a family trust, then change the beneficial interest to you - but you may want to consult an attorney on this.

@Damien Clark You didn't make it clear. First, you said with your parents credit, implying the purchase/deed were in your name. Then you mentioned being added to the deed. Do they use "trust deed", as opposed to a "mortgage" as the name of the instrument to secure the loan there? Maybe this is where the confusion is. Whose name is on the tax bill and in the county records? If the Ownership was in your parents name, then yes there would be capital gains. If so, adding you now would technically only "bring you in" at the current value, not the previous sales price I believe, so the current "spread would still be a cap gains issue for your parents. If the Ownership is in your name, then the gain is exempt.

Capital gains will apply if your parents are the deeded owner and did not use it as a primary residence 2 of the last 5 years. So who is the deeded owner right now?