Loaning money first and then buying into existing LLC

4 Replies

HI all,

I need some help and advice with some of the investment strategies I am planning on doing. Some of these strategies are due to family tension, and hence there's no way around it. I am pretty new to this, and need to what do I need to be aware of, any clauses I should include in contracts, etc.

I am trying to invest in a property with my cousin, and 4 other partners. Initially, I suggested to form a 50%-50% LLC with my cousin, and buy a 20% stake in the property (10% each between my cousin and I). Due to family problems, he does not want to do that, and instead include his wife in the LLC as a 50% partner in LLC. The problem is, he does not have enough money to buy a 20% stake in the property, so he wants me to lend money so his LLC can buy 20% stake. Then after everything is done, and after 4-5 months, I would buy out his wife's stake in the LLC, but won't have to pay since I already loaned him the money initially. So, 20% stake in property is $200k. He forms LLC with his wife, and I loan him $100k. Then few months down the road, I "buy" into his wife's 50% portion of LLC.

1. What kind of contract do I need to form when I loan him the money? Any things I should be aware of? 

2. When I buy into his wife's portion, I technically won't be paying anything since I already loaned 100k. How does that work out? Would she just get out of the LLC and I join?

3. Any ramifications on depreciated basis, etc.? He wants me to buy into LLC before buying taxes.

Thanks! Any thoughts or advice welcomed! 

So, your cousin wants you to loan his LLC half the money he needs to invest in a partnership. You will just be a lender (collecting interest?, monthly payments?), until some period of time has passed. Perhaps your note is due to be paid in full. At this point, your cousin is proposing to give you a half ownership interest in the LLC in full satisfaction of his debt.