Capital Gains and Business Entities

11 Replies

Hello everyone, I am trying to get somewhat of a plan together before I jump into this. If I have no business entity at all and buy a house in my name and do a flip, how would the capital gains tax hit me? Versus if I had an LLC, S-corp/C-corp or even a DBA? I am just starting out, so should I even make an entity at this point?

Thanks for your help!

And can I do a 1031 exchange without an entity? 

Flipping generates ordinary income, not cap gains, no matter how you structure it.  No 1031 for flips.

@Tony Bandinelli  Any tax paying entity can perform a 1031 exchange whether  you are individual tax payer or a corporate structure.  That is not the issue.  @Wayne Brooks  is right .  You would not qualify for 1031 exchange in this case because your intent as stated is to "flip" the property.  You holding it only for resale rather than holding it for ..."productive use in business, trade, or for investment" as the statute states.   How you demonstrate your intent can come in many different ways.  

Once you change your model to where you are buying with the intent to use for productive use rather than buying with the intent to sell, treating that property as inventory, you may qualify for 1031 treatment.

That is a huge bit of information I missed! Thanks guys!

So, if I am just getting my feet wet with a flip, I know it would probably be in my best interest to create an entity, but is it really necessary for my first one or two flips?