What Qualifies as "Self Employment Income" for setting up SOLO401

11 Replies

Hello All,

I am going to be talking to a couple of the "Pros/Vendors" for are so sharing of their time and knowledge here this week about setting up our Solo401k accounts, but thought this might be a good question to ask here too for others that are wondering the same thing.

Our situation is that there are 3 of us who currently use SDIRAs, but want to set up Solo401k accounts for the added benefits of 1) Larger yearly contributions 2) Simpler bookkeeping/taxes when using leverage inside of a retirement account 3) and the possible use of the 'loan feature' that is available in a Solo401k

Two of us are clearly self employed beyond a doubt. 

The third person is not as clear. Here is her situation;

• Teacher by profession. Participates in her retirement plan at work. I believe this is a 403B
  • She also has a 'side job' of refereeing sports games where she teaches - the pay for this does NOT have any taxes withheld and she is considered a 'contractor' for this. Varies from $200 per year to maybe $600 per year.
  • She coaches sports where she teaches - the pay for this DOES have taxes withheld and is added to her normal paycheck. A few thousand per year for this
  • She helps her husband with the 'office work' for his Realty Business where he is clearly self employed. He is a self employed agent. Although he does not pay her a 'paycheck' for this work, he would if it would help her be eligible for self employed status.
  • They as a couple also own about 10 rentals properties, of which she does the majority of the paperwork. They hold these properties in their own name, not an LLC. Does this count towards self employment at all being that it is a 'passive income business'