Using Self-Directed IRA to fund "Subject to" deal

12 Replies

Hi guys,

I'm poised and ready with checkbook in hand to fund my first self-directed investment. I need 2 things, the confidence that performing a sub-to deal is within the boundaries of an IRA, and also need a contract with the verbiage (I'm in Texas). Anybody that can help me? (Oh, and need to find a deal, but I'm a Realtor and not afraid to knock on a few doors and in the Harvey aftermath)

Thanks for any advice!

Sandy

@Sandy Sawyer

A "subject-to" is used with SDIRAs because it is non-recourse to the IRA. Make sure you don't confuse "subject-to" and "assumed " mortgage. Good luck.

Use the standard Texas contract and make an amendment or have your broker or attorney or title company help you if this is your first "sub-to". 

Thanks Carl; I'm concerned about whether it will incur the UBIT (unrelated business income tax) which can happen if the funds from the investment are not solely from my account, in this case, it would be likened to a loan or a partnership in a venture, no? @Carl Fischer

If your IRA owns a financed rental property you will have UBIT. More specifically, UDFI (unrelated debt financed income). There is an exemption from UBIT for rental properties owned by an IRA that avoids UBIT on the rental income. However, there is an exception to the exemption if you have debt financing. So, the portion of the value of the property (basis) that is debt financed is used to compute a fraction (loan balance / basis) and that fraction of the net rental income is UDFI and subject to UBIT. Taking over someone else loan is still a loan. You definitely want a knowledgable accountant doing taxes for your IRA. Be very careful you do not give any personal guarantee on the loan in any way. That would make this a prohibited transaction.

@Sandy Sawyer

To learn more abut UDFI and UBIT see the following.

https://www.irs.gov/irm/part7/irm_07-027-008