How to avoid paying taxes on depreciation deductions

7 Replies

I have a rental I am interested in selling.  This rental was originally my primary residence.  I have been renting it for the past 6 years.  I have, of course deducted the depreciation from it during that time.... about up to $50,000.   I do know that if I sell it, I'll owe taxes on the depreciation I've deducted.  Question, is there any way that I can avoid paying taxes on the already deducted depreciation?  Can i do a 1031 exchange to avoid/kick that can down the road?

Jason

A 1031 would be your only viable solution at this point.  @Bill Exeter or @Dave Foster could add more to that.

Even moving back in for 2 years would not help as that only resolves the capital gains, not the Depreciation Recapture.

Originally posted by @Linda Weygant :

A 1031 would be your only viable solution at this point.  @Bill Exeter or @Dave Foster could add more to that.

Even moving back in for 2 years would not help as that only resolves the capital gains, not the Depreciation Recapture.

Good Point Linda, 

But "what if," the stored losses in his PAL's (passive activity loss) bucket from other rentals exceeded his gain and his depreciation recapture portion, would he then effectively escape from paying capital gains and recapture tax on the sale of this property?

The reason I ask this is because this is a part of the planning a lot of my clients do with their accountants to build up PAL's and use the law of large numbers of properties to create a wall of depreciation to offset occasional large gains from sales of properties. They wait strategically  till they have enough losses on paper to offset these gains as a way of avoiding the necessity of having to do a "1031."

Its just an extra strategy, as is, the 1031 is a strategy as well.

I was curious as to your interpretation or opinion of the above.