Rental income taxes: Is it better to be under a active agent?

5 Replies

Hello,

My wife and I purchased our first property (Duplex), we have a PM company looking over it for us being that it is about 600 miles away. We are located in Washington state.

I've searched around for a bit maybe I'm asking the wrong questions in search...

When it comes to tax time is it better to claim as a "active RE agent" or not? I'm an active agent however my wife is not.. Any advice or pointers would be GREAT!

Thanks!

Originally posted by @Levi McDaniel :

Hello,

My wife and I purchased our first property (Duplex), we have a PM company looking over it for us being that it is about 600 miles away. We are located in Washington state.

I've searched around for a bit maybe I'm asking the wrong questions in search...

When it comes to tax time is it better to claim as a "active RE agent" or not? I'm an active agent however my wife is not.. Any advice or pointers would be GREAT!

Thanks!

Only 1 of you needs to be an agent.  However, there are clarifying questions for each property that you have to answer in order to qualify it as a passive RE investment as a Realtor.  I would check with your accountant or tax person, but I think if you have a PM, it would negate you from qualifying the properties for that classification because THEY are doing the work, and not you.

You are probably referring to real estate professional or not. If you’re a RE pro for tax purposes it means you’re active. You must spend 750 hours a year Doing real estate and not something else.

Consult a cpa no tax advice given

Hi Levi,

I am guessing you mean "real estate professional".  Currently, the major tax advantage to that status is that your real estate losses are not capped as they would be for other investors.

The definition of a real estate professional, for tax purposes, is defined by the Internal Revenue Code.  It does not mean that you have to be an agent or broker, etc.