• Real Estate Agent
  • San Francisco Bay Area
Votes |
Must ask questions when interviewing a CPA

Jamie Oie
  • Real Estate Agent
  • San Francisco Bay Area
Posted Jan 16 2018, 08:22
Good morning all! Newbie here and my husband and I are ready to start forming our team. We have an appointment for a consult with a CPA this morning and another later this week so I wanted to see if there were some MUST ASK questions in determining if they will be a good fit? We live in Northern California and will be looking to invest in out of state rentals to build a rental portfolio. We would also like to do a few flips but haven’t decided if those will be done out of state yet. We are still deciding how we will finance our first deal - we have a 401k we could potentially work with, HELOC, as well as my parents providing funds for a down payment, so I’m assuming they will have to partners?? Any input would be much appreciated!

User Stats

Votes
Katie L.
  • Attorney and CPA
  • San Diego, CA
Votes |
  • Attorney and CPA
  • San Diego, CA
Replied Jan 16 2018, 09:18

@Jamie Oie

Don't have all the facts here so I'm just covering the basics, but make sure they are familiar with all things related to rental real estate - depreciation, what gets capitalized versus deducted, basis, 1031 exchanges, depreciation recapture, etc.  If you're flipping rather than holding long term, might want to think about capital gains and losses in conjunction with other assets such as if you have investments with a broker.

Also might want to be sure they're familiar with out of state filings and requirements plus the state tax credit if you're looking to invest out of state.  Also, estimated taxes depending on your situation if you earn regular W-2 wages that have withholding but will need to pay in estimates to cover any profits from your rentals.

If you anticipate losses, make sure they are familiar with passive loss rules and the exceptions to allow you to deduct the losses.