IRS recognized real estate professional while drawing pension?

15 Replies

Hello - newbie here,

I'm a single high income earner so have very limited tax benefits for real estate investing and know that I cannot become an IRS recognized real estate professional while I have my W2 job. I plan to retire in 6 years and will have a pension. Would I then be able to become an IRS recognized full time real estate professional at that time while I'm drawing the pension? (would be under 100K threshold)And if so, would I be able to deduct depreciation at that time which has been deferred from previous years?

Thanks in advance for your response.

Originally posted by @Cristin Andrews :

Hello - newbie here,

I'm a single high income earner so have very limited tax benefits for real estate investing and know that I cannot become an IRS recognized real estate professional while I have my W2 job. I plan to retire in 6 years and will have a pension. Would I then be able to become an IRS recognized full time real estate professional at that time while I'm drawing the pension? (would be under 100K threshold)And if so, would I be able to deduct depreciation at that time which has been deferred from previous years?

Thanks in advance for your response.

Yes your can be RE pro. It’s a matter of putting in the time, pension has nothing to do with it. 

You need a passive income to offset those previously suspended loss or dispose the property. Just because you qualify for RE pro will not free up your previously suspended losses. 

New losses  after your qualify as RE pro on the rental that you materially participate can be deducted. If you don’t materially participate, even with the RE pro status, your loss will still be suspended. 

Key is the material participation. If you are a RE pro and you don’t participate materially in a rental, you can still deduct it under 25k active participation exception in your AGI is below 150, which you said your will be. 

@Christian Sifuentes