• Rental Property Investor
Votes |
Lenders for a Refinance

Charles R.
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
Posted Jan 23 2023, 15:31

Hey there!

I'm looking to purchase a property as a BRRRR, and was wondering if you all have any recommendations on lenders you have personally used for the refinance portion? If so, did they have a seasoning period?

Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Jack Mawer
  • Lender
Votes |
  • Lender
Replied Jan 23 2023, 16:34

Congrats on starting the BRRRR process! I would recommend looking into a DSCR loan as this coincides with what you are trying to do and some of these lenders have hard money options as well so you can stay in one shop for both the purchase/rehab and refinance.

User Stats

Votes
Jonathan Taylor
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Los Angeles, CA
Replied Jan 23 2023, 16:40

@Charles R. Seasoning periods vary by lender but 3-6 months is found across the board. In terms of who Id recommend, I am a broker so I am biased here but if you have questions or are quoted terms, happy to answer your questions.

Investor Property Loan Logo
BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Jon Puente
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Replied Jan 23 2023, 17:03

Hey Charles, 

Mortgage Broker here in Charlotte, NC.  Refinance period is typically 6 months of seasoning, unless you paid cash for it.  If you pay cash for a property, you can refinance right after you fix it up! This is known as delayed financing.  

The alternative would be to use a DSCR loan, which is an investor only type of loan.

Great Question! 

User Stats

Votes
Sanat Bhandari
  • Investor
  • Omaha, NE
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Omaha, NE
Replied Jan 23 2023, 18:36