Minnesota (or National) Construction Lender

4 Replies

Hi,

I am new to BP so please forgive me if this question has been asked.  I spent considerable time searching the forum before creating this post, though.

Can anyone recommend a commercial lender who will do a construction or construction-to-perm loan in Minnesota?  I would prefer 85%-90% LTC but it that LTC might not be absolutely necessary.  A lender who will do this nationally, including Minnesota, would be even better.  This is for the purchase of a four unit that will be converted into a five unit.

I do not think this falls cleanly into the crowd-sourcing category since there are multiple types of lenders who might offer this...

Thank you very much in advance!

Matt

Hey @Matt Strehl I would be curious if you find someone that will do that LTC. I consistently see 75% LTV (not C) and realize there may be someone who will do this as a short-term construction loan. I have not heard of any institutional (non-private) lender offering this as a construction to perm loan. I think you will need to look for a lender that is owned by a hedge fund as bank regulators will not allow a bank to lend on such a low LTC. Remember banks losses are insured by the FDIC, and when the mortgage mess happened the FDIC "foreclosed" on 100's if not 1,000's of banks for their bad loans. I actually know of 3, near me that were taken over ty the FDIC and then sold to larger more financially secure banks. The bottom line, you may find what you're looking for in a bank for short-term construction loans but long term they must have a lower LTC as demanded by federal regulators. If you find this product it will not be a traditional bank, but a hedge fund or other wall street, private money funded group. Please tag me if you do find it.