Skip to content
Personal Finance

User Stats

Votes
Helen Fradette
  • Grand Rapids, MI
Votes |
Newbie here, How do I calculate percentage amount to save?

Helen Fradette
  • Grand Rapids, MI
Posted Jul 4 2022, 08:39

Hello, I'm in the stage of figuring out where my money is going. When I hear people say, "Live off 50% of your income, invest/save the rest" how would I calculate that amount? I know the difference between GROSS and NET, but my NET income has a deduction of contributions to my employer IRA fund so I think I'd add that back into the NET amount, right? I calculated that 33% of my gross is being pulled off the top for taxes and insurance. So, if I work with the 67% amount and take 50% of the 67% = my savings goal?

User Stats

Votes
Bjorn Ahlblad
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Replied Jul 4 2022, 09:19

@Helen Fradette good for you to be taking initiative! The IRA is already 'savings' as you pointed out so put that amount into the savings column.There is no point in having a goal that is unrealistic. 50 will work for some, for others it is 40%, obviously more is better. By thinking this way you are way ahead of the pack already. All the best!

User Stats

Votes
Denver McClure
Pro Member
  • Financial Advisor
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Financial Advisor
  • Dallas, TX
Replied Jul 6 2022, 07:25