Christin Nguyen
  • New to Real Estate
Votes |
How To Distribute My Money as a 27 Year Old

Christin Nguyen
  • New to Real Estate
Posted May 23 2023, 18:54

Hi everyone,

I have been working as a travel nurse for the last 8 months and have started to save a bit of money now. I recently bought a starter home that I plan on turning into a rental within 2 years. Besides the mortgage, I have no other debt.

I'm finally learning about how a Roth IRA works so I plan on maxing that out yearly. I also just found out about how a high yield savings account works so I will be utilizing that as well.

My question is: how do I properly portion out my monthly income? I net roughly 12k a month. Originally, I was going to try and pay my house off asap. My mortgage is 1300$/month but I was going to pay an additional 4k a month towards principal. Now I'm debating on if that’s a good idea or if I should put more towards my high yield savings account. 

I should probably get a financial advisor but I wanted to see what everyone’s thoughts were before I went ahead and did that lol. Thanks so much in advance!!

User Stats

Votes
Jeremy H.
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Lafayette, LA
Votes |
  • Lafayette, LA
Replied May 23 2023, 19:36

First - don't get a financial advisor - unless you get a professional that you pay by the hour. The commission of these regular chumps being "financial advisors" is mind boggling to me...

Now I'll tell you how I do it:

401K - Max out - why? 22500 deduction straight from the get 

HSA - Max out - why? 7700 deduction straight from the get 

Roth IRA - You'll likely have to do a backdoor conversion if you make over 150k I believe it is - this is no problem and vanguard makes it super easy - 6k a year do it as early in the year as you can and do this every year. Tax free growth

Regular Savings/Emergency fund - I save around 4 months expenses here - I don't touch this money - could put it in a HYSA as well