Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Jacob C Olinick
  • Property Manager
  • South Florida
Votes |
Tenant keeps complaining when nothing is wrong. What should i do?

Jacob C Olinick
  • Property Manager
  • South Florida
Posted Jun 6 2022, 14:25

One of my tenants has been constantly complaining  bout the water bill. She claims something is leaking in the walls but there are no signs of water damage anywhere. I have gone out to the property several times and the outside meter is telling me no water is running or leaking. I have been managing this property for many years and never had a tenant complain about the water bill before. She isn't a bad tenant, so I would like to renew her lease because she pays on-time, but I can't keep going out to property every week to tell her nothing is wrong. What should I do?

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Bang
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Texas; Arizona
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Texas; Arizona
Replied Jun 6 2022, 14:31

What's your definition of a "bad tenant" ?  If I have to visit the property weekly to tell her there are no water leaks...too much hassle for me.   If you contact the water company to print off a history of water usage, show her its always been the same, even before she was there.

User Stats

Votes
Greg M.#4 General Landlording & Rental Properties Contributor
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Greg M.#4 General Landlording & Rental Properties Contributor
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Los Angeles, CA
Replied Jun 6 2022, 14:45

Is her water bill close to that of the prior tenant? If so, that should show her likely nothing is wrong. If it is significantly higher, maybe there is an issue. Also, the water company should be able to tell you the average usage in that area, so you can see if it is out of line.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets