General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Luis Ceja
Votes |
Biggest things to look out for when kicking off first rental

Luis Ceja
Posted Jun 30 2022, 22:47

I’m currently turning my primary into a rental. I have no experience with this and it’s a little nerve wracking because I live in California and I’m afraid of picking the wrong tenant or having a flaw in the lease agreement. Any tips?

User Stats

Votes
Bjorn Ahlblad
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Replied Jun 30 2022, 22:56

There is a lot you have to know especially in California. I'd recommend a PM while you study up. An in adverted mistake in discrimination could cost you tens of thousands! It is no joke!

User Stats

Votes
Henry T.
Pro Member
#4 Land & New Construction Contributor
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Jul 1 2022, 00:15
Congratulations on your new beginning. It can be satisfying to provide someone a nice place to live.
Even on the west coast where we constantly hear from politicians about the evil landlord.
Dont beelieve it, youre a property owner and that means something. It didnt't come easy.
You may want to call a realtor and ask if they have an inspector they could recommend.
Know that you're starting off with all the proof that your property is solid.
Even with the best lease, California is full of tricks and anti landlord legislation.
Join a landlord orginization that can help you with a basic lease.
Fill it up with all the rules you can thnk of. One vehicle on property, must be licemnsed.
BBq 20 feet away from house. No alterations, Late fees and utlilities are considered rent and will be
sent notice if delinquent. You get the idea... think of everything.
Take a billion pics before he moves in. Floors, paint, door knobs, ceilings, sinks, countertops.yard. white glove test.