Skip to content
General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Kathleen McCabe
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Dallas, TX
Votes |
Fully Executed Lease Contract Cancelled - What are my options??

Kathleen McCabe
  • Dallas, TX
Posted Aug 3 2022, 14:27

Hello,

I am a new agent (we are talking less than a month in). I have rental clients that secured a lease - it was signed by both parties and security deposit was paid. Today, the listing agents calls me and says they have to cancel the contract because the client is getting a divorce and changed her mind.

I wrote her back saying that they have a legal obligation to proceed .... contract will be breached if they do not move forward. My clients really love this place and want to move. I also added that if she absolutely cannot proceed & to avoid legal action, my clients expect three months rent and their deposit back.

She just wrote me back saying the lease was not completed because the LL's husband never signed. I had no idea she had a husband, and I do not think they were intending on bringing him into this.

What are my options and do both owners have to sign a lease agreement? his name was never even entered into the original contract and there was no place for him to sign.

This is my first transaction... beginner's luck! go figure. lol

Thanks,

Katie

User Stats

Votes
Richard F.#1 Tenant Screening Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Honolulu, HI
Votes |
Richard F.#1 Tenant Screening Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Honolulu, HI
Replied Aug 3 2022, 16:04
Aloha

You really need to get direction from your Principal Broker...

User Stats

Votes
William Wright
  • Brookline, MA
Votes |
  • Brookline, MA
Replied Aug 3 2022, 16:17